Vanitas – James Hopkins’ series of skulls

In 2006, James Hopkins has created a series of mixed media pieces called Vanitas, in which random objects and furniture are composed to create the image or illusion of human skulls.

The term “Vanitas” (sometimes the term “Momento Mori” is used in its place) comes from a practice in which Dutch painters put symbolic imagery of death into their still lives during the 17th century.Hopkins has created a contemporary version of the practice and is quoted in a Wallpaper Magazine interview in 2006 as saying: ‘I think of vanity when I see my image in the mirror, of knowledge when I read a book, and of indulgence when I drink wine or play music; but all of these things are lost in acknowledgment of seeing the skull reveal itself.’
However, says Hopkins, ‘I don’t want people to think of these works as being negative or morbid — in fact, they should be read as a celebration of life.’

Immagine

Last Days of the Sun

Immagine

Black Still Life

Immagine

Consumption & Consequence

Immagine

Prosperity & Decay

Immagine

Design for Life

Immagine

Wasted Youth

Immagine

Shelf Life

